Sen. Andy Manar, Sen. Kimberly A. Lightford, Governor-elect J.B. Pritzker, Rep. Emanuel Chris WelchCHICAGO - Assistant Majority Leader Kimberly A. Lightford (D-Maywood) was named to the education transition committee for governor-elect JB Pritzker during a news conference held at Genevieve Melody STEM Elementary in Chicago.

The 35-member Educational Success Committee is the seventh of several working groups of the transition made up of experts who will advise the new administration.

“Educating our children is the most important function of government. What our children will accomplish and how much of their potential will come to fruition starts right in our classrooms. I am excited to continue my work as a strong advocate for education, and play a role in how this administration plans to tackle the issues facing our education system,” Lightford said.

Among those named to the committee were Dr. Janice Jackson, CEO of Chicago Public Schools; Dr. Michael Amiridis, Chancellor, University of Illinois at Chicago; Ginger Ostro, Executive Director, Advance Illinois; Kevin O'Mara, Professor, Concordia University; Juan Salgado, Chancellor, City Colleges of Chicago; Mimi Rodman, Executive Director, Stand for Children Illinois; teachers’ union leaders; university administrators; state lawmakers; members of child advocacy organizations; and others.

Category: News

COVID-19 Resources

COVID19 Updates


eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.

Contact Us

District Office:
High Point Plaza
4415 W. Harrison St.
Suite 550
Hillside, IL 60162
(708) 632-4500 PHONE
(708) 632-4515 FAX

Springfield Office:
329A Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-8505 PHONE
(217) 558-2068 FAX