SPRINGFIELD—Illinois Legislative Black Caucus Chairman Kimberly A. Lightford (D-Maywood) released the following statement on the new officers and members.

Officers include:
• Joint caucus chair, Sen. Kimberly A. Lightford (D-Maywood)
• Treasurer, Rep. Carol Ammons (D-Urbana)
• Secretary, Rep. LaToya Greenwood (D-East St. Louis)
• Sargent at arms, Rep. Nicholas K. Smith (D-Chicago)
• Senate chair, Sen. Emil Jones III (D-Chicago)
• House chair, Rep. Camille Y. Lilly (D-Chicago)

Members include:
• Sen. Christopher Belt (D-Cahokia)
• Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth (D-Peoria)
• Rep. Kam Buckner (D-Chicago)
• Sen. Jacqueline Colins (D-Chicago)
• Rep. William Davis (D-Hazel Crest)
• Rep. Melissa Conyears-Ervin (D-Chicago)
• Rep. Marcus C. Evans Jr. (D-Chicago)
• Rep. Mary E. Flowers (D-Chicago)
• Rep. La Shawn K. Ford (D-Chicago)
• Rep. Sonya M. Harper (D-Chicago)
• Sen. Napoleon Harris III (D-Harvey)
• Sen. Mattie Hunter (D-Chicago)
• Sen. Toi Hutchinson (D-Chicago Heights)
• Rep. Thaddeus Jones (D-Calumet City)
• Rep. Rita Mayfield (D-Waukegan)
• Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin (D-Olympia Fields)
• Sen. Robert Peters (D-Chicago)
• Rep. Lamont Robinson Jr. (D-Chicago)
• Sen. Elgie R. Sims Jr. (D-Chicago)
• Rep. Justin Slaughter (D-Chicago)
• Rep. Curtis Tarver II (D-Chicago)
• Rep. Andre Thapedi (D-Chicago)
• Rep. Arthur Turner II (D-Chicago)
• Rep. Patricia Van Pelt (D-Chicago)
• Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch (D-Hillside)
• Rep. Maurice West (D-Rockford)

“I am eager to work with our new officers and members during the 101st General Assembly,” Lightford said. “Each of these legislators brings different experiences and talents to the table. I know together we will raise awareness and help resolve issues that are troubling black communities throughout the state.”

The Illinois Legislative Black Caucus was formally established in 1968. Its mission is to ensure that the interests of African-Americans throughout Illinois are equally represented and acted on by the General Assembly.